Brentwood Borough Council POLITICAL BALANCE – 16 May 2018

The Political Balance of the Council is:

POLITICAL GROUP	NO. OF MEMBERS		%
CONSERVATIVE	25	=	67.57
LIBERAL DEMOCRATS	9	=	24.32
LABOUR	2	=	5.41
NON- ALIGNED	1	=	2.70
TOTALS	37		100

POLITICAL GROUP	NO. OF MEMBERS	NO. OF SEATS ON ORDINARY COMMITTEES
CONSERVATIVE	25	50.68
LIBERAL DEMOCRATS	9	18.24
LABOUR	2	4.06
NON- ALIGNED	1	2.02
		75

PROPOSAL:

	A&SC* (9)	CH & HC** (9)	DAC*** (9)	E&EC+ (9)	P&LC+ + (9)	P,P&RC # (12)	R&GC ## (9)	SAC~ (9)	TOTAL 75
CON	6	6	7	6	7	6	6	7	51
LIB DEM	2	3	2	2	3	2	2	2	18
LAB				1	1	1	1		4
NON- AL.	1				1				2
	9	9	9	9	12	9	9	9	75

^{*}A&SC denotes Audit and Scrutiny Committee

**C, H & HC denotes Community, Health and Housing Committee

*** D A C denotes Dismissal Appeals Committee (Only meets on demand)

+ E & E C denotes Environment & Enforcement Committee

⁺⁺ P & L C denotes Planning and Licensing Committee

[#] P, P & R C denotes Policy, Projects & Resources Committee

R&GC denotes Regulatory and Governance Committee ~ S A C denotes Staff Appointments Committee (Only meets on demand)

Section 15 (5) principles

Section 15 (5) of the Local Government and Housing Act 1989 states:-

'The principles mentioned in subsection (4) above, in relation to the seats on any body which fall to be filled by appointments made by any relevant authority or committee of a relevant authority, are –

- (a) that not all the seats on the body are allocated to the same political group;
- (b) that the majority of the seats on the body is allocated to a particular political group if the number of persons belonging to that group is a majority of the authority's membership;
- (c) subject to paragraphs (a) and (b) above, that the number of seats on the ordinary committees of a relevant authority which are allocated to each political group bears the same proportion to the total of all seats on the ordinary committees of that authority as is borne by the number of members of that group to the membership of the authority; and
- (d) subject to paragraphs (a) to (c) above, that the number of the seats on the body which are allocated to each political group bears the same proportion to the number of all the seats on that body as is borne by the number of members of that group to the membership of the authority.'

Ordinary Committees do not include sub-committees or advisory committees or advisory sub-committees.

APPENDIX B COMBINED WITH APPENDIXC

NOMINATIONS TO SEAT ALLOCATIONS & APPOINTMENTS

(Council must give effect to the wishes of the political groups as regards the nominations for the seats allocated to those political groups).

Audit & Scrutiny Committee (9)	Conservative (6)	Liberal Democrat (2)	Labour (0)	Non-Aligned (1)
Chair*:	Cllr Russell	Cllr Chilvers		Cllr Keeble
Vice-Chair**:	Cllr Mrs Hones	Cllr Haigh		
	Cllr Barrell			
	Cllr Mrs Middlehurst			
	Cllr Nolan			
	Cllr Ms Slade			
Approved Substitute:	Cllr Cloke	Cllr Naylor		Cllr Barrett
Approved Substitute:	Cllr Reed			
Approved Substitute:	Cllr Trump			
Approved Substitute:	Cllr Tumbridge			

Community, Health & Housing Committee (9)	Conservative (6)	Liberal Democrat (3)	Labour (0)	Non-Aligned (0)
Chair*:	Cllr Hossack	Cllr Clarke		
Vice-Chair**	Cllr Poppy	Cllr Mrs Davies		
	Cllr Bridge	Cllr Ms Fulcher		
	Cllr McLaren			
	Cllr Ms Sanders			
	Cllr Mrs Tierney			
Approved Substitute:	Cllr McCheyne	Cllr Haigh		
Approved Substitute:	Cllr Mrs Pound	Cllr Naylor		
Approved Substitute:	Cllr Trump			
Approved Substitute:	Cllr Wiles			

Dismissals Appeal Committee (9)	Conservative (7)	Liberal Democrat (2)	Labour (0)	Non-Aligned (0)
Chair*:	Cllr Mrs McKinlay	Cllr Aspinell		
Vice-Chair**:	Cllr Kerslake	Cllr Chilvers		
	Cllr McLaren			
	Cllr Mrs Murphy			
	Cllr Parker			
	Cllr Poppy			
	Cllr Russell			
Approved Substitute:	Cllr Mrs Pound	Cllr Haigh		
Approved Substitute:	Cllr Ms Rowlands			
Approved Substitute:	Cllr Ms Slade			
Approved Substitute:	Cllr Trump			

Environment & Enforcement Committee (9)	Conservative (6)	Liberal Democrat (2)	Labour (1)	Non-Aligned (0)
Chair:	Cllr Parker	Cllr Ms Fulcher	Cllr Morrissey	
Vice-Chair:	Cllr Bridge	Cllr Naylor		
	Cllr McLaren			
	Cllr Poppy			
	Cllr Ms Tierney			
	Cllr Wiles			
Approved Substitute:	Cllr Barrell	Cllr Clarke	Cllr Barrett	
Approved Substitute:	Cllr McCheyne			
Approved Substitute:	Cllr Mrs Pound			
Approved Substitute:	Cllr Ms Slade			

Planning & Licensing Committee (12)	Conservative (7)	Liberal Democrat (3)	Labour (1)	Non-Aligned (1)
Chair*:	Cllr Ms Sanders	Cllr Chilvers	Cllr Morrissey	Cllr Keeble
Vice-Chair**:	Cllr McCheyne	Cllr Haigh		
	Cllr Nolan	Cllr Mynott		
	Cllr Mrs Pound			
	Cllr Reed			
	Cllr Ms Slade			
	Cllr Trump			
Approved Substitute:	Cllr Wiles	Cllr Mrs Davies	Cllr Barrett	Cllr Aspinell
Approved Substitute:	Cllr Mrs Hones	Cllr Ms Fulcher		
Approved Substitute:	Cllr McLaren			
Approved Substitute:	Cllr Mrs Middlehurst			

Policy, Projects & Resources Committee (9)	Conservative (6)	Liberal Democrat (2)	Labour (1)	Non-Aligned (0)
Chair*:	Cllr Mrs McKinlay	Cllr Kendall	Cllr Barrett	
Vice-Chair**:	Cllr Kerslake	Cllr Mynott		
	Cllr Hirst			
	Cllr Hossack			
	Cllr Parker			
	Cllr Mrs Rowlands			
Approved Substitute:	Cllr Bridge	Cllr Aspinell	Cllr Morrissey	
Approved Substitute:	Cllr Nolan			
Approved Substitute:	Cllr Poppy			
Approved Substitute:	Cllr Ms Sanders			

Regulatory and Governance Committee (9)	Conservative (6)	Liberal Democrat (2)	Labour (1)	Non-Aligned (0)
Chair*:	Cllr Ms Rowlands	Cllr Kendall	Cllr Barrett	
Vice-Chair**:	Cllr Tumbridge	Cllr Mynott		
	Cllr Cloke			
	Cllr Mrs Hones			
	Cllr McCheyne			
	Cllr Mrs Middlehurst			
Approved Substitute:	Cllr Hirst	Cllr Naylor	Cllr Morrissey	
Approved Substitute:	Cllr Mrs Murphy			
Approved Substitute:	Cllr Nolan			
Approved Substitute:	Cllr Mrs Tierney			

Staff Appointments Committee (9)	Conservative (7)	Liberal Democrat (2)	Labour (0)	Non-Aligned (0)
Chair*:	Cllr Mrs McKinlay	Cllr Aspinell		
Vice-Chair**:	Cllr Kerslake	Cllr Chilvers		
	Cllr Hossack			
	Cllr Parker			
	Cllr Mrs Rowlands			
	Cllr Russell			
	Cllr Ms Sanders			
Approved Substitute:	Cllr Hirst	Cllr Mynott		
Approved Substitute:	Cllr McLaren			
Approved Substitute:	Cllr Poppy			
Approved Substitute:	Cllr Mrs Pound			